Birdie's Web Page

American Bulldog / Mixed (short coat)  : :  Female (spayed)  : :  Young  : :  Large


More Pics...

I would love you more than you can imagine.
Please adopt me!

My Rescue
Login to Remember your Favorite Animals and Breeds!

About Birdie

  • Status: Available for Adoption (adoption info)
  • Adoption Fee: $400
  • Species: Dog
  • Rescue ID: 21-26
  • General Color: White with Black
  • Current Size: 55 Pounds
  • Current Age: 1 Year 3 Months (best estimate)
  • Fence Required: Yes
  • Housetrained: Yes
  • Obedience Training Needed: Has Basic Training
  • Reaction to New People: Cautious

Hi my name is Birdie! I’m kinda new around here but I’ve quickly become a favorite foster.

I was picked up as a stray in the Kansas City area and no one ever came to get me. Luckily for me some nice ladies helped me find my way to SFCR . 

I came in with a bad ear infection, desperately needed to be spayed and I also had a whole bunch of eyelashes that grew into my left eye! Ouch. 

I was very, very scared in the shelter and am still very wary of new people. My introductions need to go very slow and you need to let me meet people on my own terms. My foster mom says I warm up quickly.. like…it only took me one good nights sleep to fall madly in love with her. 

Speaking of sleep - I’m the best sleeper.

I’m quiet as a mouse in my kennel and I don’t shred up blankets so I get a big dog bed in mine. I like to have a couple nylabones, a big black kong or a peanut butter marrow bone for kennel time. 

I have two , four legged foster siblings and I’ve even played with the boy one. He’s a really confident and tolerant guy so it was really fun. If my forever home has a dog I’ll need them to be the same way. I don’t really take social cues very well, I just wanna play hard and fast, I need a lot of breaks at first so we can reset and get to know each other. . I need a big brother who is seasoned, has a long fuse and is tolerant enough to teach me the ropes. 

I’m one smart cookie and I picked up my basic commands in short order. I know sit, lay, look, and I even wait for meals and doors. Did I mention that I’m a rockstar on a leash? Well, I am. I don’t pull much unless I see a critter before foster mom has a chance to tell me “leave it.” I want to chase all the critters so I would be better in a house with no small animals like cats , small dogs or other vermin. 

I have great energy and love to play with my chuck it Ball. I will play with it in the yard for hours. I also love the water. I have a pool that I play in all the time. I also went dock diving and I loved it! 

So I’ve done a lot in my short time here in SD and I’ve been spayed, my ears look great, and I even had entropion surgery for my eye - it healed up perfectly. 

I’d like a forever home that is really slow going, without a lot of traffic coming in and out. I’d like a big fenced yard to play in and I’d even like some human siblings as long as they are over 10 years old, and a calm, tolerant male dog who can show me the ropes.

Thanks -Birdie

More about Birdie

Good with Some Dogs (No small dogs), Not Good with Cats, Good with Older/Considerate Kids Only, Requires a yard, Leashtrained, Cratetrained, Likes to play with toys, Likes to swim, Not good with small dogs

Other Pictures of Birdie (click to see larger version):

Birdie